top of page

In The Beginning.

Updated: Sep 1, 2022

My first blog post! Lets start off by saying I am no writer, I have terrible grammar and I ramble quite a lot but I would enjoy writing down my experiences as I continue to grow Cavells Designs. If not only just for myself to look back on.


I began Cavells Designs when I was in fashion design school, but I would like to go back further than that to get a real understanding of how I truly became a fashion designer. It all starts with my mom. She was the biggest creator in my life, she has been crafting around me ever since I was born. Painting, DIYing, and most of all sewing. My mom would sew up all my Halloween costumes, costumes for plays and since I was a very tiny girl growing up she would literally alter every piece of clothing I had so it would fit perfectly. To this day she loves making quilts, sewn crafts, and now owns her own alterations business in her home that I helped her set up when I moved back home for two years after college back in 2015. She has over 30 years of alteration experience and still teaches me tricks of the trade when I have the honor of sewing with her. Which we have the joy of doing a few times a year when she helps me sew a bunch of Cavells Designs gowns to have a huge drop all at one time. I wouldn't be able to do it without her!


Photo: My Biggest Inspiration. My mom on her wedding day & Helen wearing her wedding dress 3 weeks before she said her own I Do's


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page