top of page

Fashion Design School

For 3 semesters I took a fast track program at Mc College in Edmonton Alberta graduating in 2015. Where I studied fashion fundamentals, clothing line production, collection development and the business of the fashion industry.



In fashion design school I started Cavells Designs, but it looked a lot differently back then. I started by making infinity scarves, Yes back then they were very much in and are the whole reason why Cavells Designs is successful now... in a way. I started by making about 20 scarves and posted them on my personal Facebook page and they nearly sold out. This was so encouraging! I decided to participate in my first of many markets! and then had my first opportunity having my infinity scarves in a store in my home town. This was so thrilling as I already felt like I was "making in it". Thank you to every single person who bought an infinity scarf from me, it wasn't only helping me get through college but supported me in continue to grow my business.

Once spring came while in school and no one was buying scarves anymore I was excited to come up with another thing to get excited about making. I remember needing to make enough money to go on a mini vacation with my sisters to the mountains. I put my mind to it and in one week I sold 7-1o Kimonos. So thankful to that little sister retreat it was our last outing before we all started having babies. I believe my sister was actually pregnant with my first nephew during. We haven't been on a sister vaca since and now that I think about it's so very due (7 years later)).


Our biggest project in school was the 8 look collection for the year end fashion show at Western Canadian Fashion Week. My collection was Casual Elegance, inspired by the Parisian winter wonderland. You can see in this collection that I already had a love for lace. Also all the knit fabrics were thrifted sweaters that I transformed into new designs. This started my love for reclaiming materials and giving them a new life.


Graduation!



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page